Chidzambwa Names Strong Squad for Cosafa Cup

WARRIORS coach, Sunday Chidzambga has named a strong 33-member squad dominated by England based stars as he prepares for the upcoming Cosafa Cup tournament to be held in South Africa this month.

Zimbabwe have previously fielded home-based players for the regional tournament but with the coach looking to also use the tournament as part of the preparations for the African Cup of Nations qualifiers, later this year, he has chosen to call up his best team. 

European based stars called up include, Tendai Darikwa, Adam Chicksen, Admiral Muskwe, Macaulley Bonne and Tinotenda Kadewera, Andy Rinomhota and Kelly Lunga.

Most of the players who featured for the Warriors in the team’s thrilling 3-0 win over Liberia in the Afcon Group G opener at the National Sports Stadium last year including skipper Knowledge Musona Khama Billiat and Marvellous Nakamba will be part of the team.

Warriors team manager, Wellington Mupandare yesterday said they were hoping that the foreign based players would have got their passports by the time the they leave for the tournament.

“We hope that those players who need passports will have secured them by the time we leave for the tournament. Already Darikwa and Chicksen have been to the embassy to regularise their documents and the rest will be going this week,” said Mupandare.

Mupandare said the team will get into camp in Harare on the 24th this month and train for a week before leaving for the tournament.

Zimbabwe, who claimed a record fifth Cosafa Cup title in South Africa last year, will start this year’s tournament from the quarterfinal stage after receiving a bye in the group stages.

They will begin their search for a sixth title with a match against winner of Group B, which has Angola, Botswana, Mauritius and Malawi.

Hosts South Africa will take on the winner of Group A, which has Mozambique, Madagascar, Comoros Islands and Seychelles.

The other two quarter-finalists will see four-time winners Zambia clash with Namibia as Lesotho take on Swaziland.

This year’s tournament, which for the first time will feature all Cosafa 14-member states, is scheduled for Limpopo province from May 27 to June 9.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Show Buttons
Hide Buttons

Adblock Detected

Our website depends on Advertisements. That is how we keep the lights on. We promise that the Adverts running on our site are neither invasive nor malicious. Please disable your adblocker so you can access our content